Author Interview Series · book reviews

Summer Reads: Into the Air

Book: Into the Air

Author: A.K. Downing

My Goodreads Rating: 5 stars

IMG_2728

Synopsis (from Amazon):
When Mia Bryn escapes her underground compound and travels into the air, she never imagines her world will explode. Separated from her father and attacked by creatures she never knew existed, Mia flees into the forest. Within hours, she finds an abandoned girl, discovers a link to her missing mother, and meets beautiful, golden-eyed Archer. But why is an ordinary girl from a compound being hunted? And how can Mia survive in a world she knows nothing about?

* * *

My thoughts:

I had the opportunity to meet the author at a local author event in Pittsburgh. We had a really great chat about writing and book, which I will be sharing with you all next week as a part of my author interview series here on the blog, so stay tuned and be sure you’re subscribed! 🙂

I read a lot of dystopian novels, such as The Hunger Games or Divergent; however, I don’t typically read fantasy/adventure books, as I am more the typical romance YA book kind of girl. But only a few chapters in to Into the Air and I knew it was not your typical YA read. This first installment in the series about Mia Bryn and her adventures above ground for the first time isn’t just “dystopian” or just “fantasy” but a blend of all the current YA genres, with a bit of romance in there too!

IMG_3942

I am very intrigued to see what happens next after the action-packed ending. I can’t wait for book #2, which comes out next Spring, to see where this story takes Mia, Archer, and Ezra next.

I was pleasantly surprised at how this story contained aspects from so many different genres. I think there’s something in the plot for everyone. I really liked Mia and Archer together . Throughout the whole book you can tell there is this constant pull, like a magnet, between them. I really enjoyed watching their relationship/bond grow throughout the novel.

This thrilling story had me intrigued from the start. With a unique and exciting plot Into the Air is sure to be enjoyed by readers of all genres! Downing really captures the spirit of adventure in this book.

Overall, I recommend this book to readers of typical fantasy, adventure, and dystopian novels- or all of the above!

My favorite line in this book:

“Possibility is the most hopeful feeling anyone can have.”

Happy Reading!

~Nadette Rae

P.S. This book just got a new cover! Check it out:

NEW Cover Option v5.indd

Click here to purchase the latest edition of this book.

 

One thought on “Summer Reads: Into the Air

Leave a Reply

