book reviews

Summer Reads: Take the Key and Lock Her Up

Book: Take the Key and Lock Her Up 

Series: Embassy Row (#3)

Author: Ally Carter

My Goodreads Rating: 5 Stars

IMG_5330.JPG

Synposis (via Goodreads):
The princess is dead. Long live the princess.

Centuries ago, the royal family of Adria was killed…or so everyone thought.

Now Grace Blakely knows the truth: There was one survivor, and that survivor’s blood runs through her veins. This simple fact could cause a revolution—which is why some people will stop at nothing to keep it from coming to light.

There is only one way for Grace to save herself, save her family, and save the boy she loves. She must outmaneuver her foes, cut through the web of lies that has surrounded her for years, and go back to the source of all her troubles, despite the risk.

If she wins, she will inherit a throne.

And if she loses, she will inherit the fate of all the dead princesses who came before her.

* * *

My Review:

Okay, so, if you’ve been following my blog for a while, you know Ally Carter is my favorite author. I just love her writing style. It’s so relaxed and feels like the main character is having a conversation with you as the reader. But her books are also very thrilling and keep you guessing. I never want to put a Carter book down and wait anxiously for the next books in each series.

Embassy Row is no exception.

In the first 2 books, you follow Grace as she tries to figure out what happened to her mother and why. You find that Adria is a place full of secrets, underground tunnels, secret societies, ancient buildings, and old nursery rhymes that may just hold the keys to the past.

In this series, I have always appreciated seeing the sibling relationship between Grace and her old brother Jamie. I have an older brother, and the way Jamie protects Grace reminded me of how my older brother is always looking out for me. There isn’t always a big focus on siblings in typical YA novels, so I really liked that this series highlights their bond. Family gets you through a lot in life, and it was nice to see that Grace had Jamie to help her through such hard times like losing their mother so young.

“The Scarred Man” is such an intriguing plot line. You find as the series goes on that there is a much deeper story to this character, and he becomes essential to the story. I am always wondering when he will show up next and what hidden past they will uncover with him.

Grace and Alexei. Oh my! I absolutely LOVE these two together. There’s something so sweet about their relationship. Like Jamie, Alexei is always looking out for Grace and trying to protect her. She seems to be really honest and herself around Alexei, which is nice to see. From the beginning of the first book I kept hoping these two characters would somehow end up together! I can’t wait to see more of their relationship as the story continues.

Overall, this book was a very good, very exciting read with twists and turns and more secrets and answers. I keep saying this, but the Embassy Row series just keeps getting better! Each book builds on Grace’s story and Adria’s history, and the endings keep you praying there’ll be another installment to this thrilling series.

I can’t wait to read more Ally Carter books!

5 Stars! As always with this YA author, highly recommend this book! Want to read it? Buy it on Amazon today! 

Have you read this book? What did you think? Let me know in the comments.

Happy Reading!

~Nadette

Leave a Reply

