book reviews

Summer Reads: Girls in the Moon

Book: Girls in the Moon

Author: Janet McNally

My Goodreads Rating: 5 stars

IMG_1936
Follow Nadette on Instagram: @nadetterae
Synopsis (via Goodreads):
An exquisitely told, authentic YA debut about family secrets, the shadow of fame, and finding your own way.

Everyone in Phoebe Ferris’s life tells a different version of the truth. Her mother, Meg, ex–rock star and professional question evader, shares only the end of the story—the post-fame calm that Phoebe’s always known. Her sister, Luna, indie-rock darling of Brooklyn, preaches a stormy truth of her own making, selectively ignoring the facts she doesn’t like. And her father, Kieran, the cofounder of Meg’s beloved band, hasn’t said anything at all since he stopped calling three years ago.

But Phoebe, a budding poet in search of an identity to call her own, is tired of half-truths and vague explanations. When she visits Luna in New York, she’s determined to find out how she fits in to this family of storytellers, and to maybe even continue her own tale—the one with the musician boy she’s been secretly writing for months. Told in alternating chapters, Phoebe’s first adventure flows as the story of Meg and Kieran’s romance ebbs, leaving behind only a time-worn, precious pearl of truth about her family’s past—and leaving Phoebe to take a leap into her own unknown future.

* * *

My mom got me a three-month subscription to Book of the Month Club for Christmas this past year (I know right? Best. Gift. Ever.) For my first selection, the month of January, I chose this book, Girls in the Moon. And let me tell you, I am SO glad I did!

From the very first few pages I was hooked on Phoebe’s story. The writing style of this book was so realistic. I felt like the story was happening to me; I was so wrapped up in this amazing page-turner of a book!

I loved how this book showed so many aspects of Phoebe’s life. I feel like some love stories today just focus on the love triangle or the couple and almost forgets about the outside world. But not Girls in the Moon. This book beautifully highlights Phoebe’s relationship with her sister, Luna; it was realistic and truthful. Their relationships with there parents, who were famous musicians, are also portrayed in the book in a very realistic light. You can feel the struggle Phoebe is facing in whether or not to reach out to her estranged father or not and trying to learn more about her parents’ days as rock stars.

I really enjoyed the plot-line with her friend Tessa. It was interesting because little bits and pieces would get revealed throughout the story, and even though Phoebe and Tessa were not speaking at the time, it was still clear how much a best friend impacts your life. I thought Tessa and Phoebe’s friendship and past added a great dimension to Phoebe as a character and let us see more about her and her life outside of the Ferris family drama.

Archer. I really liked Archer with Phoebe! The chapters with him in them just made me so happy. I didn’t really like the whole hiding-their-relationship-from-Luna-and-the-band-thing and the blow-up that occurs because of that. But I understand why that all was in the story-line and because Archer was in Luna’s band, it was kind of necessary. But all in all, I really did like Archer and Phoebe together. I really like that she writes poetry/ song lyrics and he plays the music. I just think they brought out the best in each other.

The chapters from Meg’s were so good! I really liked seeing that because I’m trying to work other perspectives into my upcoming novel, Echo, so it was great to read a book where the point-of-view shifts were done so well! Adding other perspectives gives you the other side of the story and in this case, it really rounded out the plot and gave the reader insight into the Ferris family. It was an excellent idea to add Meg’s voice!

Oh and the names! I loved that all of the names had to do with the moon! Luna, Phoebe! It was really cute.

IMG_1926
@nadetterae

A great first novel from McNally! Highly recommend this book to all my readers. I really hope McNally writes more novels in the future because I will definitely read them all!

Have you read this book? Are you a member of the Book of the Month club? Let me know in the comments!

Click here to purchase on Amazon.

Happy Reading!

~Nadette

 

One thought on “Summer Reads: Girls in the Moon

Leave a Reply

