book reviews

Winter Reads: The Heir

Book: The Heir 

Series: The Selection Series (#4)

Author: Kiera Cass

My Goodreads Rating: 4 stars

img_4525
Instagram: @nadetterae

Synopsis (via Goodreads): 

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

* * *

*spoiler alert: this review does have some spoilers, but they are towards the end, so I will let you know at that point in case you haven’t read this book yet.*

First of all, I love Kiera Cass as a writer! Her style is so unique, and with each of her books I find myself totally wrapped up in world of the Selection.

I am really glad she decided to continue the series. I simply needed more Maxon & America in my life! I was so excited when I saw the next two books would be about their daughter. What a great way to keep their story going but still make it into something new!

That being said, I’m not a huge fan of Princess Eadlyn. I’ve read mixed reviewed on the Selection series: some readers love America but hate Eadlyn and vice versa. I have to say, I am more on the America side of things. I just loved her as a character. I really enjoyed the first three books and honestly felt a bit more vested in America’s character and story than I do with Eadlyn.

However, I must say Eadlyn and her brothers all seem to have little bits and pieces of both America and Maxon. Eadlyn has her mother’s stubbornness, but she seemed to think like her father.

Okay, now for the boys!

So this was the great part about this Selection being for Princess Eadlyn rather than having the story be about her twin brother Ahren. The Selected are all guys to fall in love with over the course of the book! ❤ There are literally 35 adorable guys vying for this girl’s heart.

My favorite of the Selected so far? Sir Kile, Sir Henri, and Sir Hale. I also like Erik as a character for Eadlyn.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It isn’t my top book of the series (The One still holds that position), but it did make me smile, and I am excited to see what happens next. I would definitely recommend this to all Selection series fans, as well as, those of you who were maybe on the not-team-America side of things, because you may end up loving/relating to Eadlyn better.

**Spoiler alert: this next portion contains spoilers!**

Okay, can we talk about Kile Woodwork for just a sec? I mean, the fact that he is a Woodwork is just perfect right there. Great way to tie story lines back together. Also, I kind of love the fact that they never really saw each other in a romantic way until the Selection-and that first kiss!- forced them to. Basically, I’m a big fan of Sir Kile so far.

Alright, Henri. Henri just seems like the world’s sweetest guy- not to mention he’s a pastry chef. LOL. The communication could be a struggle for them, but honestly, it is something they could work on together. I really loved all the little scenes with Henri, so I hope to see more of him with Eadlyn in the next book.

Hale. Hale’s got swag. He’s the charming guy in the group and I love it! He’s got that whole I’m-here-to-impress-you-every-day thing going on and I just think he sounds cute.

Erik. Now, I realize he isn’t exactly one of the Selected. BUT no one can deny there’s something there between him and the princess. He’s always there for her and is such a good person at heart. I hope he sticks around in the next book too!

In general, I hope Eadlyn lets love in a little more in the next book. I’m really curious to see how each storyline pans out in The Crown.

Happy Reading!

~Nadette

Leave a Reply

