book reviews

Winter Reads: Just Listen

Book: Just Listen

Author: Sarah Dessen

My Goodreads Rating: 5 stars

img_2967
Instagram: @nadetterae

Synposis (via Goodreads):

Last year, Annabel was “the girl who has everything” — at least that’s the part she played in the television commercial for Kopf’s Department Store.

This year, she’s the girl who has nothing: no best friend because mean-but-exciting Sophie dropped her, no peace at home since her older sister became anorexic, and no one to sit with at lunch. Until she meets Owen Armstrong.

Tall, dark, and music-obsessed, Owen is a reformed bad boy with a commitment to truth-telling. With Owen’s help, maybe Annabel can face what happened the night she and Sophie stopped being friends.

* * *

So I actually read this a while ago, but recently re-read it and realized I never reviewed it on here for you guys. So here is the review I wrote on Goodreads right after reading it plus some thoughts I had after rereading it.

I must say Just Listen was a very good book. It’s a close second to Lock and Key. I enjoyed them both but for very different reasons.


I just love the way Sarah Dessen writes. She really makes the story come to life on the pages, and I find myself getting completely wrapped up in her books. I really also admire her writing style and the way everything is so realistic.

She consistently has some of the best endings of books that I’ve read in a while. She wraps everything up so beautifully, no lose ends, there’s no wondering if two people end up together or if the main character will ever be happy again. You just know because she tells you or at least hints at their future in the end of her books. Every time I finish a Sarah Dessen book I just feel…satisfied, as in I’m happy with how it ended and it’s what I hoped would happen to the characters. Sometimes when you finish a book, you feel depressed (in a way) that it’s over. But with her books, I always feel happy with the endings. That’s what I hope to achieve in my writing.

And Just Listen left me with that feeling. I think she wrapped up this story in such a great way, and I just knew Annabel and Owen and Whitney and Kirsten, and all the other characters are going to be okay.

Because a story doesn’t always end when the book does, there’s more to it than that.

Just Listen is a very realistic book in that the characters are all dealing with very real issues. This YA book touches on some very difficult situations and emotions that teens face.

I thought the symbolism of the glass house she lives in was so interesting. It’s like people look in their beautiful glass house and see a perfect family living inside. But no one knew the struggles that were going on within that house. It appeared one way- put together and perfect- but in reality, nothing really ever is that way.

This book was very well written and was a real page-turner. I definitely recommend it!

Have you read Just Listen? What did you think? What’s your favorite Sarah Dessen book?

Happy Reading!

~Nadette

3 thoughts on “Winter Reads: Just Listen

Leave a Reply

