book reviews

Winter Reads: The Grift of the Magi

Book: The Grift of the Magi 

Series: Heist Society (#3.5)

Author: Ally Carter 

My Goodreads Rating: 5 stars 

img_1802
Instagram: @nadetterae

Synopsis (via Goodreads): 

Katarina Bishop is a thief. To many it wouldn’t matter that she now uses her considerable skills to re-steal valuable works of art and return them to their rightful homes.

She’s still a thief.

So that’s why Kat’s surprised when an Interpol agent comes to her one snowy evening, asking for Kat’s help.

The Magi Miracle Network was set to auction off a very rare, very valuable Faberge egg two days before Christmas, but the egg’s been stolen and now the charity’s reputation—and their future—is on the line.
Kat’s family and Interpol might be opposite sides of most jobs, but someone just stole Christmas.

Now it’s up to Kat and her crew to steal it back.

The Grift of the Magi is a Heist Society novella and is approximately half the length of the other novels in the series. It stands alone, but if you want read more about Kat and her crew check out Heist Society, Uncommon Criminals, and Perfect Scoundrels.

* * *

I downloaded this novella on Christmas Eve so I could have a fun, Christmas-y story to read over the holidays. It was so good! I read it in a couple hours! 

I’ve always been a fan of Ally Cater books, especially the Heist Society series. All the books in Heist Society are a pretty fast read, and they’re really interesting- quite a page turner! 

The Grift of the Magi has everything the other Heist Society books have from con artists, to the teen romance between Kat and Hale (totally love them as a couple by the way!), to the heist they must pull off on a major time crunch. 

I thought the plot of this book was really intriguing. And it all went with the Christmas theme really well! 

I really love the way Carter throws plot twists in at times when you think the heist simply won’t work. I also like how the Heist books all have an event or a date that each chapter leads up to (like how it says “Ten days until Christmas”). I’m constantly saying “one more chapter, then I’ll go to bed” when I read Heist Society books because I just need to know what happens next. I need to find out if they pull off the heist, if they get conned by some great con artist, and if something is a real artifact or if it’s a fake. 

I love all the characters in the series. I love how Gabrielle will swoop in and save the day or surprise everyone with her skills. I love Uncle Eddie! When all the characters are gathered in his kitchen and Kat says it feels like home to her, I can feel that sense of warmth and comfort too. The family aspect really comes through in these books. I think Hale is a really interesting character, and I honestly think he is perfect for Kat. I love the story of how they met and I’ve really enjoyed being able to see their relationship grow through the first three books to the point it was in this novella. You know they’d do anything- and steal anything-for each other. Hale wants to give Kat the world.

I can’t wait for the fourth Heist book! These books make me want to find my own Hale and go plot a heist! 

Also, Ally Carter wrote a little author’s note at the end of this novella about writing reviews for books you like reading. As a fellow author, I really appreciated that author’s note. It is so important that readers write reviews for books they liked; it helps the authors, it helps other readers decide what books to get, and it starts discussions about the books. As the authors of the books you guys review, we really really appreciate all the kinds words you say about what we write. (So that’s why I wanted to write this review because I really enjoyed her book!) 

Even though Christmas is over, this book is still such a fun one to read. You should go download it and read it! And write a review or comment below with your thoughts of The Grift of the Magi! 

Happy Reading! 

~Nadette 

Leave a Reply

