Dreams · Inspiration

#MLKDay 2017: “I Have a Dream”

Happy MLK day to all! 

On this day, I like to think about Martin Luther King Jr.’s speech and all that he dreamed this country could be. 

So I thought I’d write a post today in the topic of dreams. 

Now I know what you’re thinking. “Nadette, you always write about dreams!” 

And that is true. I do. But I typically post about the dreams you have in your head while you sleep. Today I want to discuss dreams with you as in aspirations, goals, and what you hope for your future. 

“I have a dream”… 

What do you dream will happen in the next five years? Five months? Five days even? 

What did you dream about being when you grew up? Are you there yet? 

img_1872
Instagram: @nadetterae

So instead of New Years Resolutions, here are my 17 dreams for 2017: 

  1. I dream of finishing the current project I’m working on. #wip #theillusiontrilogy 

  2. I dream of releasing that book this calendar year, so my readers can know what happens next. 

  3. I dream of interacting more within the bookish community. I have loved this last year getting to know people who share my love of books and words! 

  4. I dream that I can continue to meet other authors through my book and this blog. It is always so inspiring to get to talk to people who have been through the publishing and writing process and to hear how the writers I admire write. 

  5. I dream of having the time to read books that I want to read! (Not assigned for homework) 

  6. I dream of a world where books are the key to unlocking imagination and escaping everyday life, if only for a little while. 

  7. I dream of fixing my typewriter and hearing that click-click-click again as I write! 

  8. I dream of blogging more often and sharing my thoughts and words with you all! 

  9. I dream of getting the opportunity to meet more of my young readers. Hearing their stories and seeing their own writing really inspires me! 

  10. I dream of writing everyday, even if it is just journaling or writing posts. 

  11. I dream of taking more pictures, to capture some moments in life I may otherwise forget. 

  12. I dream of covers for book two! So many ideas! 

  13. I dream of reading 30 books this year. 

  14. I dream that this year will be full of words and books and laughter and memories and hope for the future. 

  15. I dream that no matter what your 2016 or 2015 or 2014 etc. held, that you take this year in stride and truly chase after what you deserve and dream of. 

  16. I dream of a world and a country where words have the power to bring people together. 

  17. And lastly, I dream that all of you may have the chance to follow your dreams, take that first step, and make your dreams a reality in 2017. Today is the perfect day to start. 

    img_0277

So tell me, what is your dream for 2017 and how will you get there? 

Sweet dreams! Dream big! Always follow your dreams! And remember that “no person has the right to rain on your dreams”. 

~Nadette Rae 

Leave a Reply

