Author Interview Series

Author Interview Series: J. D. Wylde

Hi everyone,

Today I have an interview with an author I met at the Passages & Prose event I attended in the Fall. She has been so supportive of Illusion and I wanted to share her story with you all.

So read below and be sure to check out her website too!

~Nadette

* * *

Author Interview:  J.D. Wylde

Hi, Nadette! Thank you for inviting me to be a guest on your blog. I’m honored to be here.

What genre is your favorite read?

I love romance. Can I let you in on a little secret? I’m a hopeless romantic.  I love reading stories where boy meets girl and they overcome all the obstacles in their path to find their forever-after happiness. I’m like an addict. I can’t get enough of them.

Who is your author role-model?

I would have to say Debbie Macomber. I was just starting out with no idea of what to do. I had just finished reading one of her books and decided to write to her asking what I should do. I never expected to hear from her, but she took time from her busy schedule to write me with some really good advice. I never forgot her graciousness.

How old were you when you began writing?

Imagination was my best friend growing up. It was also my passport to an amazing world beyond the farm I grew up on.  And with it as my constant companion, I wrote my first short story at age eight. I went on to write poems and little stories for my kids when they were growing up.

Is writing your career or something on the side?

It is my career now. Being “Penny” to a Big Bang Theory think-tank of software engineers, physicists, and theorists was already taken. (Just teasing!)  Seriously, I have always loved to write. Being able to leave my day job of actually taking care of a think-tank of software engineers to pursue my dream is a blessing.

What inspires you to write?

When someone says, “I loved your book.” Or, “I, too, have known that kind of love,” is all the inspiration I need.

Do you base characters off of people in your life?

Not really. I may take a few character traits from them. Sometimes something they have experienced, or said inspires me, but I don’t base my characters off them. My mind is more a mental Motel Six. I leave the mental porch light on, and they come.

Read the book or see the movie first?

Always, always, always read the book first!

How do you read a book (i.e., cover to cover, sometimes finish it, will tear through it in a day, read the last page before starting)?

I read a book cover to cover, starting with the author dedication, or author acknowledgements. I love to read who and what has inspired them, or the story.

What is a writing goal you have?

To have one of my books made into a movie. Bradley Cooper, I have a hero perfect for you!

What is your advice for aspiring writers?

Never give up. Write every day. Take classes to learn the craft and find a writing group in your genre. There’s joy in like-minded individuals sharing and caring. Trust me, they understand the writing things that your family and other friends can only scratch their heads at.

And always, follow your dream. It will lead you to amazing places.

* * *

Author Bio:

J.D. Wylde is the author of sweet and sexy romance. She has a line of sexy contemporary romances, as well as a line of sweet inspirational romances of faith. She writes stories with strong heroines, sexy heroes, and always, a happy ending.

Her books are available in e-format and paperback at http://www.amazon.com and Barnes and Noble (on-line paperbacks).

You can follow J.D. on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Or visit her website at www.jdwylde.com.

HB4116

Leave a Reply

