Author Interview Series · Uncategorized

Author Interview Series: Stephanie Keyes

Hi all,

Today I have an interview with author Stephanie Keyes!

Check it out:

Author Interview:

Author name: Stephanie Keyes

Works: The Star Child, After Faerie, The Fallen Stars, The Star Catcher, The Last Protector, A Faerie Wedding, Into Faerie:The Star Child Novellas, “The Boy In the Trees” part of the Blood In The Shadows anthology. Soon to be released, “Into the Garden” part of the Ever in the After charity anthology to support Lift 4 Autism.

Awards: 2015 BTS Magazine Readers Choice Awards Finalist (The Star Child), 2014 Dante Rossetti YA Novel Award (1st place Mythology) The Star Catcher, 2013 Kindle Book Awards semi-finalist (The Fallen Stars)

What is your all time favorite book?

Anything in The Chronicles of Faerie series by O.R.Melling.

What is your current favorite book?

Candor by Pam Bachorz

What genre is your favorite to read?

Anything YA. It’s usually Fantasy, but sometimes contemporary. I don’t get a ton of time to read, so I only read books that I’m really going to get into.

Who is your author role-model?

J.K.Rowling. She’s badass!

How old were you when you began writing in general?

I was always making up stories, but the earliest I remember writing something down was 12.

How old were you when you wrote your first book?

14. It was written in pencil on a spiral-bound, college-ruled notebook. I have no idea what happened to it!

Is writing your career or something on the side?

I also freelance as an IT consultant, teacher, graphic designer, and blog with my husband at www.thenerdgarden.com 

Where is your favorite place to write?

My brand-new office. 🙂

 

Who inspires you to write?

My husband. He was the first person I talked to about writing and he reads everything I write.

Do you base characters off of people in your life?

I don’t base my characters off of other people, but I have re-purposed specific behaviors that I’ve seen people demonstrate. For example, the way they manage grief, handle bullying, etc.

Read the book or see the movie first?

Read the book!

 

What are your thoughts on major plot-twists?

If it makes sense for the story, awesome. If not, don’t force it!

How do you read a book (i.e. cover to cover, sometimes finish it, will tear through it in a day, read the last page before starting)?

It depends on the book! I’ve done all four of these.

 

If you could sum up your writing style in a word or phrase what would it be?

Unintimidating Fantasies Filled With Damaged People Who Know How To Kiss

What is your advice for aspiring writers?

Learn how to take criticism. Give up on the idea that your work is perfect and no one will never find any fault with it. That’s never going to happen, so don’t even let yourself harbor that expectation. Then learn how to identify which types of feedback add value. The sooner you pin that down, the sooner you can continue on your journey as a developing writer.

What are you currently working on (if you can say)?

I’m editing two novels right now. One is a YA Fantasy and one a YA Sci-Fi. I’m also co-writing a New Adult Romance series with another local author.

Could you tell us a little about The Star Child series?

Sure! The Star Child series is about a brainy guy who’s been haunted by a girl he met on the beach in Ireland as a child. When he comes face-to-face with his own personal ghost, he discovers she’s just as real as he is. And oh, by the way, he’s gotta save the world from darkness. There are no latent powers involved. He’s just armed with his brains and a whole lot of courage. It’s a six-book series. Three novels and three novellas.

Also, could you tell us about your part in Blood in the Shadows?  What was it like writing part of an anthology? 

When my publisher approached me about writing a piece for the anthology, I thought it would be great fun. That was until I realized how painful it is for me to write short stories! An old mentor of mine used to say, regarding word count: “Some of us are innies and others outties. You, my dear, are an outtie.” That was so true! I began three other stories before come up with “The Boy In The Trees.”

* * *

For more info about Stephanie or to purchase one of her books Click here  .

 

One thought on “Author Interview Series: Stephanie Keyes

Leave a Reply

