Author Interview Series

Author Interview Series: J.T. Philips

Hi guys!

Today’s post is another interview!

This one is with a good friend of mine, author J.T. Philips.

Her debut novel was just released! It is so fun, adventurous, and intriguing. After you read all about the author below, be sure to check out her new book! I highly recommend it.

* * * 

Author Interview

Author name:  J.T. Philips

Works: The Last of their Kind

What is your all time favorite book?

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

What is your current favorite book?

Green Rider by Kristen Britain

What is the most recent book you’ve read?

The most recent book I read was Killing Reagan by Bill O’Reilly.

What genre is your favorite to read?

My favorite genre to read is definitely fantasy.

Do you feel your writing style is similar to the type of books you read?

Yeah, I think so. It kind of draws from all of the different genres I read.

Who is your author role-model?

J.K. Rowling, of course! I think every author wants to be her at some point or another. Plus her stories are incredible!

How old were you when you began writing?

Well, I’m not exactly sure of the exact age, but I do know I entered a contest with Reading Rainbow to get a book published (it didn’t win). I think I was about five or six at the time.

How old were you when you wrote your first book?

I wrote my first real book when I was eleven. That was The Last of their Kind.

Is writing your career or something on the side?

Well, it was going to be my career, but I decided to do something completely different in college. So unless my plans change, writing is just a hobby.

Where is your favorite place to write?

My favorite place to write is at Lake Erie at Van Buren Bay. It’s where I started writing my books and it always feels good to be writing in the place where my journey as an author began.

What inspires you to write?

Pretty much my daily life inspires me to write. Usually it’s me going “Well this day was super boring. I wish something cool happened.” And then I’d create something cool to try to make my day more exciting. It usually works. Another thing that inspires me to write is (don’t laugh) a movie. I’ll get really into a movie and I’ll get inspirations from what I see, so I’ll stick it in my book.

Who inspires you to write?

Oh man. So many people! My friends and family are my main supporters, and their encouragement and feedback helps motivate me to be the best I can be.

Do you base characters off of people in your life?

Oh gosh, yeah! Almost every single character in my book is based off of one or more people I know. My main character, Jaiyana, is based off of myself and a bunch of other characters from books, movies, and TV shows. A lot of my other characters are the same way.

Read the book or see the movie first?

Usually I’d say read the book first. It’s the best way to do it. However, if you really don’t have the time to read the book, every once in awhile you can cheat. Just not all the time!

Do you like when a movie is slightly different from the book with its own twist, or does it have to be exact?

I feel very strongly about this. If you’re going to make a movie based on a book, MAKE IT EXACTLY LIKE THE BOOK. There’s nothing worse than walking into the theater, expecting the book’s awesome plotline that you’re dying to see on-screen, and then receiving a movie that basically has nothing in common with the book except the title. It’s just WRONG!

What are your thoughts on major plot-twists?

Major plot-twists are good, to a certain degree. If they’re used in moderation, then I’m cool with them.

How do you read a book (i.e. cover to cover, sometimes finish it, will tear through it in a day, read the last page before starting)?

Well… I have done all of these. Usually I read the book cover to cover. In the case of really good books like Harry Potter I’ll tear through them in a day. Other books I’ll start and only get through like twenty pages. I’m not great at committing myself to a book with a slow start. As for reading the last page, I find this absolutely reprehensible, though I’ll admit: I have done it. With Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, which was stupid of me.

What is a writing goal you have?

My ultimate goal is to get all of my books published. (One down, four to go!)

If you could sum up your writing style in a word or phrase what would it be?

Exciting!

What is your advice for aspiring writers?

If writing is your dream, go after it! To achieve your dreams, you need to work at it. Don’t be afraid to ask for people’s advice and to give your writing everything you got.  

Tell me about your new book/series.

The Legacy Series follows the Aelder family, starting with Jaiyana, as each tries to deal with the repercussions of their predecessors actions. The Last of their Kind follows Jaiyana’s story as she tries to rebuild her homeland and avenge her family’s death.

* * * 

To buy The Last of their Kind on Amazon click here.

To visit J.T. Philips’ official site click here.

Happy Reading!

~Nadette

Leave a Reply

