book reviews

Summer Reads: The One

Book: The One

Series: The Selection series

Author: Kiera Cass

My Goodreads rating: 5 stars

img_2929Synopsis (via Goodreads):

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

* * * 

I tore through this book, reading it in less than two days. It was so good, and I could not put it down!

The Selection series continues to get better and better. I loved the first book so much and did not think it was possible for the series to get better than it already was. The One certainly did not disappoint!

I loved getting to see more into Maxon and America’s relationship, as well as seeing how other character’s lives were going (Aspen, Marlee, Lucy, etc). I also feel like you see a deeper side to Maxon in this book.

This book had so much emotion in it! I don’t want to give anything away, but I was hooked throughout the whole book, anxious to see what would come next. From traumatic events because of the rebels, to finding out secrets of those around America, to the drama of falling for a guy who is dating three other girls at the same time, to the tragedies that strike toward the end of the book, to the epilogue that made me cry. There were some very sad parts in the book, but I think it turned out really well in the end.

I loved every minute of this book!

My favorite part was reading the letters Maxon wrote for America. They showed so much about his character and were so sweet and full of love and I just loved it so much!

Cass does an incredible job of making the reader feel like they are really experiencing the selection with America. You can feel everything she is feeling and honestly just want her to be happy.

Overall, this book just made my heart so happy. When I finished it, I just sat there for a few minutes, sad the book was over, but so incredibly happy for each character for how this book wrapped up. I’m really excited to read the next two books, as well as the novellas that go along with the first three books in the series.  

I highly recommend the entire selection series if you have not read it yet!

Have you read The One yet? Share your thoughts below!

~Nadette

One thought on “Summer Reads: The One

Leave a Reply

