book reviews

Summer Reads: Saint Anything

Book: Saint Anything

Author: Sarah Dessen

My Goodreads Rating: 5 stars

img_0801
Follow me on Instagram @nadetterae
Synopsis (via Goodreads):

Peyton, Sydney’s charismatic older brother, has always been the star of the family, receiving the lion’s share of their parents’ attention and—lately—concern. When Peyton’s increasingly reckless behavior culminates in an accident, a drunk driving conviction, and a jail sentence, Sydney is cast adrift, searching for her place in the family and the world. When everyone else is so worried about Peyton, is she the only one concerned about the victim of the accident?

Enter the Chathams, a warm, chaotic family who run a pizza parlor, play bluegrass on weekends, and pitch in to care for their mother, who has multiple sclerosis. Here Sydney experiences unquestioning acceptance. And here she meets Mac, gentle, watchful, and protective, who makes Sydney feel seen, really seen, for the first time.

The uber-popular Sarah Dessen explores her signature themes of family, self-discovery, and change in her twelfth novel, sure to delight her legions of fans.

* * * 

First of all, I have yet to read a Sarah Dessen book I don’t like. Each time I read another one of her books I think, “Okay, this one is definitely my favorite!”

But this time! I mean it, Saint Anything is my new favorite Sarah Dessen book! (Lock and Key was previously my favorite.)

This book had so much meaning to it. Once you read the part that explains the title, it is so perfect and fitting. They talk about the saints, and how there’s basically a patron saint for anything. But she just needed a “Saint Anything”, something to protect her for whatever she needed, to protect/ help her brother, to help her mother heal, to help her heal, and to just be there as a constant reminder of the past and what is yet to come.

It was one of those books you can’t stop thinking about even after you’ve finished it.

I loved all the characters in the book, especially Mac, Layla, and their mom. I feel like they were the type of people Sydney needed in her life and it was a blessing for her to have met them. I think they all helped her find herself and deal with the guilt and other emotions she had weighing down on her.

I loved the carousel scene! I thought it was so neat to have an old carousel out in the woods and all the symbolism in that for the main character. I loved how Dessen chose the carousel to be the cover of the book! I thought that was perfect!

The ending too was really great! I kind of want to know how that conversation went, but at the same time, I do think it was a good stopping point for the book because the readers get to see how much Sydney has grown and the steps she is taking toward her future.

Which Sarah Dessen book is your favorite?

Happy Reading!

~Nadette

2 thoughts on “Summer Reads: Saint Anything

Leave a Reply

