Uncategorized

New Year, New Writer

Hi all,

Happy 2015!

Photo Credit: Nadette Rae Rodgers
Photo Credit: Nadette Rae Rodgers

I honestly cannot believe a whole year has passed already! It seems like only yesterday we were counting down to 2014.

This past year has been an amazing one for my family and I, and I simply can’t wait to see what 2015 has in store for us. I’m hoping to have my book out soon and will keep you all posted along the way.

I want to take this opportunity to thank you! Thank you for all the comments, likes, reblogs, retweets, everything. Most of all, thank you for reading! I hope this blog has helped you over the past year either deciding what book to read next on Mondays, developing writing skills on Wednesdays, or learning more about yourself through your dreams on Fridays.

It has been an amazing experience blogging and getting to share my thoughts and my feelings with you all! My goal for 2015 is to blog more often than I have the past year (it’s been a busy one), to publish my book, and to just have a good time writing and sharing with you all.

I just hit the 50 mark for followers on my blog and I’m hoping to double that this year! So thank you to all my readers!!! I am so blessed to have readers like you all. J

* * * * *

So to kick off 2015, I have a challenge for all you writers out there:

In this New Year, become a new writer.

By this I mean, step out of your comfort zone.

Think about something that scares you and write about it. Dig deep within yourself.  What is your biggest fear? Write a story about it. You never know how your words can help someone. Maybe a rough time in your life sparks the idea for a new story and you help someone going through that right then who thought no one else in the world understood.

Or maybe just challenge yourself and think outside the box.

If you always write from a teenage girl’s point of view, write from the guy’s perspective this time. Or write from a mom’s thoughts or a little kid. Put on someone else’s shoes and learn about them, create a world for them, become them when you’re writing.

Try writing a new genre that interests you. Collaborate with another author. Write some short stories or try writing poetry. Write a spinoff of a novel you already have from another character’s point of view. Do research on an era you liked learning about in high school and write something about that. Look up writing prompts and run with one that interests you. Think of one word and create a story around it.

Basically, expand your writing horizons.

Obviously, you know what type of writing works for you. You write what you know, and you read like you write or vice versa. So I’m not saying to give up on writing what you love to write. You should definitely write what’s in your heart. But for something fun and different, maybe switch it up every now and again, it’ll make you a well-rounded writer.

But most importantly have fun and write with your heart!

~Nadette

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Writer

Leave a Reply

