Uncategorized

Author Interview Series: Dana Faletti

Hi everyone!

Today’s #WritingWednesday post is a continuation of my Author Interview series. Dana is a friend of my family’s and has been a huge inspiration to me over my journeys in  writing.

Her writing is so amazing, and I love that her works all have a deeper meaning to them than just YA fiction novels. 

Author Interview

Author name: Dana Faletti
Works: The Whisper Trilogy. Whisper and Wake
What is your all time favorite book?

This is so hard! Karen Marie Moning’s Fever Series

What is your current favorite book?

Jojo Moyes- The Girl You Left Behind

What is the most recent book you’ve read?

This is Where I Leave You, by Jonathan Tropper, and I am currently reading You, by Caroline Kepnes.

What genre is your favorite to read?

Probably Women’s Fiction and YA

Do you feel your writing style is similar to the type of books you read?

Definitely. Depending on what I’m writing, I try to read books within the same genre.

Who is your author role-model?

I love Jojo Moyes. Her writing is so beautiful, it makes me cry.

How old were you when you began writing?

I was eight when I wrote my first story and around ten when I started to become obsessed with writing poetry.

How old were you when you wrote your first book?

I was in high school. Sixteen years old!

Is writing your career or something on the side?

I am fully committed to raising my three daughters – it’s my full-time job, and my family comes first. With that in mind, I want them to see me doing something passionately- committing myself to something that uses the talents that God gave me. Writing is my dream career, and I take it seriously. When I treat it as a career, I am more productive, so I really try to carve out time every single day to sit down and write.

Where is your favorite place to write?

Starbucks in Wexford, PA.

What inspires you to write?

Everything! I am inspired by people – what makes them tick, by the journey of life – how we are all so much the same and yet unique. I am inspired by places and cultures, by food and by memories. Yes – everything!

Who inspires you to write?

My family. God. A sad-looking person at the coffee shop- I like to come up with back stories for random strangers.

Do you base characters off of people in your life?

Yes – all the time. So, watch out haters – I might just kill you off in my next novel! Ha.

Read the book or see the movie first?

Book! Definitely!

Do you like when a movie is slightly different from the book with its own twist, or does it have to be exact?

I like the book to be exactly the same. I feel cheated when the movie is different.

What are your thoughts on major plot-twists?

It depends. It has to be believable and consistent with the story. I just read a book by an author I love, and the end was a total twist. I felt cheated and angry. I didn’t like it at all. Some plot twists, though, – WOW. For example – We Were Liars. This book is an awesome example of a great twist. Loved it.

How do you read a book (i.e. cover to cover, sometimes finish it, will tear through it in a day, read the last page before starting)?

If I like a book, I read it beginning to end. If a book does not grab me, I put it down. Too many good ones out there to plow through something that doesn’t interest me. If I love a book, I read everywhere – the car, waiting rooms, on walks.

What is a writing goal you have?

Right now, I am working on publishing the 3rd book of the Whisper Trilogy and also a women’s fiction novel called Beautiful Secret.

If you could sum up your writing style in a word or phrase what would it be?

All in.

What is your advice for aspiring writers?

Writing is not a career for the faint of heart. There is so much competition, so much rejection, so much waiting! But, if writing, for you, is like breathing, and you can’t live without it, then it’s what you were made to do! Never give up! Find a group of writers, and encourage each other. Critique each other’s work. Write every day!

 * * * * * 

Thanks for reading guys!

Be sure to check out Dana’s site for more info:  http://www.danafaletti.com/

Her books are available on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=wake%20by%20dana%20faletti

~Nadette

P.S. Leave a comment below telling me what other authors you’d like to see interviewed here or if you’re a writer and are interested.

2 thoughts on “Author Interview Series: Dana Faletti

Leave a Reply

