Uncategorized

Mockingjay Part 1: Book vs. Movie

Hi guys!

Happy Monday! I hope your Thanksgiving weekends were great.

So I just got back from seeing Mockingjay (for the second time) and thought I’d talk about the relationship between the book and the movie.

I reviewed the book Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins exactly a year ago, so here is the link to that post if you want to read about just the book:

https://nadetteraerodgers.wordpress.com/2013/12/02/mockingjay/

So I would have to say that as a book Mockingjay was my least favorite. I felt like it got a bit boring at parts, and it wasn’t as much of a page turner as the other two books in the trilogy were for me.

I wasn’t sure what they would do with the movie, especially once I heard they were splitting it into two parts. But I must say the way the movie was done was great! I really enjoyed it and thought they paced it pretty well.

The film kept true to the book, which I liked, and I enjoyed getting to see some of the parts play out that I couldn’t picture that well when reading the book.

I felt Julianne Moore was the perfect person to play President Coin. I thought she portrayed the character very well and I loved all the scenes with her in it.

I’m interested to see what they do with the second half of the book; I feel like there’s still a lot they need to pack into one more movie.

But overall, I really liked Mockingjay Part 1. I prefer the movie over the book in this case. I also think Mockingjay was a good end to the series; Collins did a good job of tying it all together in the end.

Just one year until Part 2 comes out!

Let me know your thoughts on the book or the movie!

~Nadette

Leave a Reply

