Uncategorized

Author Interview Series: All About Me

Hi guys!

I am starting an author interview series where I will interview fellow authors and share them with you here on Writing Wednesdays!

I figured I’d start with me, so you all can get to know my writing style and more about me in general.

Here it is:

Author Interview

Author name: Nadette Rae Rodgers

Upcoming Works: Illusion

What is your all time favorite book?

The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks

What is your current favorite book?

Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

What’s your favorite series?

Most recently, The Gallagher Girls by Ally Carter

What is the most recent book you’ve read?

The Longest Ride, also by Nicholas Sparks.

What genre is your favorite to read?

Romance. Nicholas Sparks, Sarah Dessen types.

Do you feel your writing style is similar to that of the type of books you read?

Yes and no. I feel that the romance definitely comes through in my writing. I don’t think I could honestly write a plot without any romance.  But at the same time, I tend to write with a lot of suspense and plot twists. I’ve been told my writing is “somewhat dark” and “creepy”, which isn’t usually something you find in a Nick Sparks book. 😉

Who is your author role-model?

Lately, it’s Veronica Roth. She’s a young writer like me and making a huge impact on the industry. I love her writing style; the story really comes to life on the pages. I think her books are amazing, and she has a real talent! I would also say authors of old classic novels, the people who gave meaning to literature because they wrote in such a way that it applies to today and will continue to be read for years to come. To be able to write like that is a skill I hope I can achieve someday.

How old were you when you began writing?

I was 5 when I wrote my first “books” and “poems”.

How old were you when you wrote your first novel?

I was about 16.

Is writing your career?

Right now, writing is just something I love to do in my spare time. It could be a career in the future, but for now I love just writing to write.

Where is your favorite place to write?

Either the beach or curled up in tons of blankets in my bed.

What inspires you to write?

Music. The way the lyrics and instruments come together can give me an idea for a whole book in a few minutes of a song. Sometimes it doesn’t even have to do with the words in the song; it’s just the way it makes me feel can spark an idea.

Who inspires you to write?

Certain situations with friends or family will give me an idea, but as far as who gives me the drive to keep writing? I’d have to say my mom. I always want to write more and more and show her what I wrote that day; ever since I was five I’ve done that.

Do you base characters off of people in your life?

Oh yes! I think it’s hard not to have bits and pieces of friends and family poke through your characters’ personalities. My main character always ends up being just like me, no matter how different I try to make her, and the best friend in the book always has qualities that I look for in my friends.

Read the book or see the movie first?

Read the book! (Unless it is super long and I’m not sure what I’ll think of it, then I see the movie first. But that only happens every once and a while.)

Do you like when a movie is slightly different from the book with its own twist, or does it have to be exact?

Most often I like a movie to be just like the book. I feel The Fault in Our Stars is a great representation of the book, and I loved it. However, Red Riding Hood is one of my exceptions. The book was writing by Catherine Hardwicke after the movie was out. I kind of liked seeing it done backwards. It was neat to see some differences. Other times like with The Giver, I ended up liking the movie better than the book because of the differences. I felt it developed the story a bit more and I liked the fact the characters were teenagers rather than kids. But for the most part, stick to the book.

Are you a hopeless romantic or thriller-junkie?

Hopeless romantic all the way! I get so upset when two characters that seem perfect for each other don’t end up together.

What are your thoughts on major plot-twists?

Love ‘em. There has to be plot-twists to keep the readers interested and on their toes. I’m always throwing plot-twists in my writing.

How do you read a book (i.e. cover to cover, sometimes finish it, will tear through it in a day, read the last page before starting)?

I’m not going to lie: I read the last page or last few pages before I read it. I know it’s bad and I’m currently trying to break that habit.

What is a writing goal you have?

To inspire other young writers to just go for it and do what they love; as well as, to touch the hearts of my readers and make them feel good about themselves after they read my books. I think that’s the best an author could hope for!

If you could sum up your writing style in a word or phrase what would it be?

Mysteriously unique.

What is your advice for aspiring writers?

Go for it! If writing is what you love to do, never stop. You never know where your dreams could take you, so why not chase them?

* * * * * 

Thanks guys! 

Be sure to let me know if you know of any authors who would be interested in being featured on my blog.

If there’s an author you’d like to see featured here, let me know, and I will see what I can do!

Happy Hump Day!

~Nadette

3 thoughts on “Author Interview Series: All About Me

Leave a Reply

