Uncategorized

The Longest Ride

Hey everyone!

I really enjoyed The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks, and, yet again, I think my Goodreads review that I wrote immediately after I finished reading it says it all:

I just finished reading The Longest Ride. I haven’t had much time lately to sit down and read, and finally today I just curled up in a big chair and finished the rest of the book.

The book as a whole was great. In the Author’s Note at the end, Nicholas Sparks says it was one of his favorite novels to write, and I must say it is one of my favorite books he has written in a while. This book of his is completely different from his other novels, and the way he brought two seemingly completely different lives together into one story was just amazing.

I absolutely loved reading the love story of Ira and Ruth. It was simply perfect. Ira had the most beautiful art collection ever, but all he thought of when he looked at the masterpieces was his wife and her beauty rather than the paintings. The way Ira adored Ruth makes me smile and hope for a love like that one day. Luke and Sophia were an unlikely pair, but they made it against all odds, and I think Ira and Ruth’s story inspired them too.

The ending of the book brought tears to my eyes. Sparks ended the book brilliantly. I figured Luke and Sophia’s lives would connect to Ira’s somehow involving his accident, but I was not expecting how it all ended.

This book really exceeded my expectations (and my expectations were pretty high because I love Nicholas Sparks books).

I definitely recommend it. This story has so much to offer and has something for everyone. I also think this book really brought about the meaning of life and the fact of karma. When you do something nice for someone else out of the goodness of your heart it will come back ten times greater. What goes around comes around. This story really captures the meaning of that and the meaning of true love. 

This is definitely my new favorite book!

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

~Nadette

P.S. Friend me on Goodreads so you can read my other reviews and see what my favorite books are!

7 thoughts on “The Longest Ride

    1. Hi Jay-ar!

      There is no prologue to The Longest Ride.
      Sparks just jumps right in to the story. I feel the way the story is set up, there is no need for a proluge.

      Hope you like the story as much as I did!

      ~ Nadette

  1. What is the meaning of the whole book? I know the paintings from the story have to go along with the meaning, but what is it?

    1. Hi Haley,

      I think the meaning of this book depends on how each indivdual reader interprets it. At this point in my life, I really felt that the meaning of the book was what goes around comes around; if you do good for others it will come back to you a thousand times greater.

      The meaning of the paintings:
      I took the paintings to be symbollic of Ira’s love for Ruth. He has hundreds of paintings with amazing monetary value to them, but to him, they mean nothing. They obviously remind him of his wife and certain memories he has with her; however, his most prized painting is a portrait of his wife that was painted by a third grader. So I found the paintings to be something to show the reader just how much Ira valued his wife. I think the meaning of the book and the purpose of the paintings within the book is up to how you read the story and what you personally took away from it. Ira saw the paintings as memories, Ruth saw them as the masterpieces they were, and I took them as being symbols of their love story.

      So its all in how you read it.

      Hope this helped a little!

      ~Nadette

Leave a Reply

