Uncategorized

Lock and Key

Hi everyone!

Lock and Key is a book by Sarah Dessen. It’s about a girl named Ruby whose had a hard life from her dad leaving to her mom’s drinking. Her older sister used to be the person to always help protect her when things got bad at home. But soon her sister leaves for college, leaving behind a troubled past but at the same time, leaving Ruby to fend for herself.

Years later Ruby one day finds that her mom has left, and she is on her own. She lives on her own for a while, thinking all is fine until someone reports that she is a minor living in the house by herself.

She is sent to live with her older sister, Cora, and her husband. Cora now lives in a huge house, and Ruby feels she has forgotten where she came from and who she left behind.

Ruby has to work on her relationship with Cora and getting back to the strong sisterly bond they used to have. She has to learn to let people in, let them help her when she needs it. She also has to navigate her way through a new school, a new life, a new job, and possibly a new guy, who just may have as many walls up as she does.

The minute I finished reading Lock and Key, rather than simply rating it out of five stars as I usually do on goodreads.com, I sat down and wrote my thoughts on the book. So I thought that I would share that review with all of you today for my Monday book blog post:

When I began reading this book, I honestly wasn’t sure what I thought of it. My friend convinced me to keep reading it, and I’m glad I did. This book really turned around and continued to get better and better. I fell in love with the characters and was rooting for Ruby’s life to turn around. This was the first Sarah Dessen book I’ve read, and I plan on reading more. I was surprised how amazing the ending was. She ended the book so well that I found myself tearing up as Ruby explained the meaning of “family”. All of the lose ends were tied up to create a great, happy ending for a girl whose life hadn’t been all that happy before she found her meaning of “family.”
(Nadette Rae Rodgers, Goodreads.com)

Let me know what you think of Lock and Key, and tell me what other Sarah Dessen books you’ve read.

Also find me on Goodreads! See what books I’ve read and what I think of them as well.

Talk to you all soon!
~Nadette

One thought on “Lock and Key

Leave a Reply

