Uncategorized

Summer Reads (Distant Waves)

Hi guys!

A little bit ago I wrote a blog post about my new favorite YA titles for summer. I wanted to expand on that and tell you a bit about those books in my next few blogs. For today, I’m writing about Distant Waves by Suzanne Weyn.

I absolutely loved Distant Waves! It seems to me that a lot of people think the book is just about the Titanic and that’s it, but the story has so much more to it. Yes, the storyline does involve the tragedy of the Titanic ship, but I liked how the exposition and rising action of this novel was drawn out, which made me really root for the main characters to make it off the boat in time.

The storyline can be a little hard to follow in the beginning but everything gets sorted out and even details that seem minor in the first few chapters play a role in the outcome of the story. The main character, Jane, and her sister Mimi live in a small town with their mother (who has a special and very unique gift) and their younger sisters (Blythe, Emma, and Amelie).

Soon the two oldest sisters travel to New York City to find an inventor, Telsa, whom they had met years ago in the beginning of this novel. When Mimi and Jane meet Telsa, Thad is introduced. This leads to a love interest for Jane and even for Mimi. The love interest is the reason why Mimi boards the Titanic and Jane and Thad tag along for the ride. I don’t want to give away the ending though, so you’ll have to read and find out what happens.

Distant Waves was such a good story and every second was intriguing and made me want to read more. Suzanne Weyn is a very good author and really gives you the sense that you’re on the Titanic with the characters. I can’t wait to read her other books too.

Hope you enjoy Distant Waves and keep checking back for more posts about my other favorite novels for summer reads!!

~Nadette

Leave a Reply

